Ford Transit USA Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
655 Posts
I have very little experience with auto transmissions. Here is my old school reaction to all this. Like with other brands/models, a filter change necessitates only a partial refill...I.e. 2/3 of the old flu id remains in the trans with a typical filter replacement, only 1/3 gets replaced. A “flush” is one way to get all the fluid refreshed. I don’t know that it is the only way (other than total rebuild to a dry unit). A flush by itself would not address a dirty or clogged filter. Therefore, a flush AND filter change is the “more complete” approach (other than total rebuild or complete trans replacement). Is this correct thinking?

This plug with a fluid level “stick” may save Ford a few nickels vs a traditional dipstick, and it may keep more contamination out, but sounds like a PITA. I feel I will be at someone’s mercy if/when this needs to be addressed, and I have a low threshold of trust it will be done correctly.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

·
Registered
2,282 Posts
^^^
Amazon has the same one for $30 more- I believe I'd order it from them as they usually have great return policies. Ebay- good luck with a return.

I'm looking into them as I have 4 vehicles- 3 of them automatics and 3 more in the family fleet I maintain. Problem is every one of them uses a different ATF- some of those machines are a PITA to drain, clean and switch fluids.

·
Registered
587 Posts
This is where I downloaded my service manual files.

https://www.motorcraftservice.com/Purchase/ViewProduct

You can select how much time to access the files from Motorcraft.

I selected 72 hours but you have to have the time to download the files.

I googled for the 2015 Ford service manual and there a lot more sources for the Transit manual since I first tried back in 01/2017.

·
Registered
2,396 Posts
^^^