Ford Transit USA Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My apologies if this is information easily obtained elsewhere, but I'm struggling to understand all of the new initialisms being thrown my way.

I am doing my best to figure out what the towing capacity of the Transit is. I understand that there is the GVWR, which is the total payload capacity of the van (including itself and everything in it). I could be wrong, but I think GCWR is the combined weight of the GVWR and a trailer.

That being said, hypothetically, if the curb weight, plus bodies, plus upfit, and all liquids, equals a weight of 8,000lbs out of a GVWR of 9,000, how much would a Transit with a GCWR of 6,500lbs be able to tow?

I sincerely apologize if this makes no sense. I'm still learning.

Taking the numbers from this document: https://www.ford.com/cmslibs/content/dam/brand_ford/en_us/brand/resources/general/pdf/guides/19Towing_Ford_Transit_Oct25.pdf

Thanks!

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
GCWR - Actual vehicle weight - trailer weight > 0
Ah, ok, so using my numbers it comes it would come out like this (again, hypothetical):
GVWR = 9,000lbs
GCWR = 12,600lbs
Trailer (Wrangler) = 4,000lbs
Curb weight after upfit = 8,000lbs

Equation:
12,600 - 8,000 - 4,000 = 600

Obviously this is simplified and there are other considerations (I think tongue weight being one of them) but for the most part is that correct?

·
Registered
173 Posts
Ah, ok, so using my numbers it comes it would come out like this (again, hypothetical):
GVWR = 9,000lbs
GCWR = 12,600lbs
Trailer (Wrangler) = 4,000lbs
Curb weight after upfit = 8,000lbs

Equation:
12,600 - 8,000 - 4,000 = 600

Obviously this is simplified and there are other considerations (I think tongue weight being one of them) but for the most part is that correct?