Ford Transit USA Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
Gray 2018 15 Passenger Transit 350 XLT - We call it the "Pachyderm"
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am not good with forums so forgive me if there is already a post about this, I tried searching but could not find one.

Anyone have problems with interior pads sticking and wearing out prematurely?

My Transit 350 has 29K miles and the rear brakes were noisy and I noticed a slight drop in fuel mileage. I had it in for an oil change to my usual mechanic who said I needed rear brake pad and calipers because the calipers seized. The inside pads were worn and sticking but the outside were not. Hoping it would be covered under warranty, I took it to the local dealership, not the one I bought from, and they said it was an issue with "slides" that get dirty and don't allow the pads to release property. The service manager said they recommend having the brakes cleaned annually especially in New England where I live. I have had the van a year and this was never mentioned to me. They completed the repair and pad replacement to the tune of $600.00 and told me that it was not covered by the warranty. Feels like I am being taken for a ride here but maybe that is just my natural distrust of dealers, mechanics and people who sell me products I know little about. Any thoughts and if there is already a thread can some one direct me to it?

·
Registered
2019 150 mid roof (base)
54 Posts
Most vehicles brake with the front/rear at 60/40%(top of my head haters). I'm pretty sure the transit cargo/passenger vans use more brake percentage in the rear. I believe it's to prevent nose dive. I noticed a lot of info about this when researching before buying.
Brakes are consumables, so not under warranty.