Ford Transit USA Forum banner
1 - 20 of 69 Posts

·
Registered
2021 W2X High Roof Cargo T350, 148", EcoB, AWD, Avalanche Grey
738 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Rectangle Grey Automotive exterior Gas Tints and shades

I've been working on our van build for a few months. It's slow going. A lot of our building materials are leftovers from other projects, including about half the wiring materials and fasteners. I have tackled a few large diy projects (including a two story garage), but this van thing is mental gymnastics.

Sound deadening (one 36 sq ft package), thinsulate and rough wiring are done. I started with sound material first and quickly decided to use scrap plywood for a temporary floor and to copy as the template for the final one. It's much nicer to work on and protects the floor from dropping every tool I own, pointy end down.

The ceiling and upper walls (above the wire chase and slider) are 1/8 luan. The sidewalls are 1/4 AC exterior plywood with 2" deep bump outs. Rather than moving the wire chase or cutting the foam blobs I just worked around them.

Hoping to see my 8020 order soon.

Attachments

·
Registered
738 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 · (Edited)
Looks nice and tidy! Great idea with those tabs on removable(?) panels over the wiring.
Any details/photos of the attachment of the 1/8" ceiling material?