Ford Transit USA Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all,

First post and first conversion. I've never worked with electricity before and could really user some professional eyes to scan my diagram please!

Open to any and all critiques and suggestions.

Specifically, does my ground look ok? Can I ground from the negative bus like this to chassis, and if so WHAT AWG wire do I need to ground? I was thinking same as largest input wire but I'm not sure.
Also is it easy to add an alternator connection after my build is complete? I want to plan ahead for this connection but I am unable to do it now.

Thanks for taking the time to help out the new guy!!

·
Registered
2019 MR RWB T150
92 Posts
The CCP “customer connection point” is your access to the alternator and is on the drivers side seat base right inside the door.
You can use the Blue Sea Circuit Wizard to check your wire sizes.

·
Registered
680 Posts
Looks like you're on track. I have essentially the same design. You don't need the chassis ground with this setup as is, and can leave your "House Side" floating. You may need it if you add a B2B or other form of alternator charging at a later time, depending on the route you take. Use 2/0. If a main 2/0 positive shorts you don't want your ground wire going into meltdown before a fuse ;)

I'd suggest going up to a 300A terminal fuse. Your inverter peak power (surge) is 3000W (250A), plus any other DC loads at the time. Your bank can handle a 300A surge fine.

Cheers,

·
Registered
129 Posts
Is there a reason that the MPPT bypasses everything (including the main shutoff) and goes directly to the battery? Also 10 guage to your panels is more than enough. And the shunt will have a small 18 guage cable that goes directly to battery pos.

·
Registered
993 Posts
Just a couple of observations...
I would route the + from the charger to the + bus bar just for cleanliness
No charging from the vehicle?

·
Registered
6 Posts