Ford Transit USA Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Being a long-time lurker allowed me to become inspired, do a camervan build plan, and buy a 2020 Transit from @CrewVanMan (delivery last weekend). I’m an engineer and program manager by trade, so I have plenty of written details and plans. As a small token of appreciation for this community for all the help I’ve received, I’ll keep updating this thread with pictures and details as the build progresses. Comments, suggestions, and questions are welcome, and thanks for all the help so far and in the future!

Design Vision
  • Hop in Fri after work with bikes, clothes, and dog, and start driving--fill up with water and groceries on the way, sleep anywhere, and wake up to make coffee and breakfast before the Sat adventure (probably an epic road or mountain bike ride with my wife somewhere in CO, UT, or AZ)

• Just add water and gasoline on the way to the adventure
  • Lightweight, efficient: as much as possible with a nearly-4-ton van!
  • Configurable, upgradeable
  • Stealth-ish--when driving or sleeping in suburban/urban places, nothing on the outside looks too obviously like a campsite, or like there is anything to steal inside
  • Drive through snow/slush/rain with bikes protected inside; highly prefer to not remove bike wheels
  • Normal uses: maybe 9K mi/yr?
    • Short work commutes: ~300 mi/yr, maybe 20 trips
    • Hauling building and van upgrade supplies around town or to to a vacation place: ~1K mi/yr, maybe 15 trips
    • Stealth camping in the city for Fri night parties followed by Sat morn bike rides: ~1.5K mi/yr, maybe 15 trips
    • More remote driving/camping/cycling trips, long weekends through 2-weeks: ~~6K mi/yr, maybe 8 trips
Garage and vehicle
  • The Van! Garage-storable Pop-top weekend adventure camper