Ford Transit USA Forum banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My wife and I ordered our Transit 01/28/2021, and I have spent months researching and designing what we want our van to be. Sadly, our delivery date has been pushed from 04/22 to 06/03 currently. Fingers crossed.

Some info - this is full live-in. My wife and I want a four-season, capable van. We plan to do some weather chasing as we are not cold-climate people folk. We plan to see CONUS, Canada and Alaska in the next few years. We are outdoor lovers and this van will see dirt, access and fire roads, and extended off-grid camping. For this reason, we chose the standard 148" wheelbase, AWD with the 3.5L ecoboost. We are short people, so we're lucky enough to make the bed sideways to save much space. Longitudinal bed length is 48".

I am an aircraft mechanic by trade, so I will be completing 99% of the conversion myself, less some fabrication.

Here are the specs I've come to:

VAN ORDERED 01/28/2021: 2021 148" Long, AWD, Ecoboost, Abyss Gray
  • Black wheels
  • Body matched front bumper
  • 3.73 LS
  • Black cloth with vinyl floors
  • 8" touch screen
  • 6 speakers
  • Fog lamps
  • Wheel well liners
  • Overhead shelf
  • Maintenance monitor
  • Split front / rear cameras
  • Rear doors and sliding door glass
  • Modified wiring
  • BLIS
  • HD scuff plates
  • Reverse sensing
  • Dual batteries
  • Dual alternators
  • Extended range fuel tank
  • 253 degree doors
  • AUX fuse panel
  • Side sensing
  • Large center console
  • 110V power outlet
  • Upfitter package

EXTERIOR / SUSPENSION / RECOVERY:
  • Custom roof rack and side ladder, very similar to Remora's in Canada, but longer to accommodate 600W of solar as well as a roof tent that is currently on my Tacoma.
  • BFG KO2 (245/75R16)
  • Maxxtrax
  • Van compass winch mount at a later date.
  • Van compass lift with Falcon remote reservoir shocks and some front strut in the future.