Ford Transit USA Forum banner

1 - 20 of 47 Posts

·
Registered
2,327 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
While being in Kansas City to deliver 4 Transits at Matt Ford, I got a call to come by and look at the first built prototype CrewVan. There was limited time to do it so I headed from the dealership and got there just in time to see it. Getting to finally view a REAL CrewVan and see the details on it helped a lot to see what Ford did with the information I had been giving to them for the last 2 years about making this model.

The biggest part of building the CrewVan was Ford making a roof airbag to cover the area where the 2nd row 3 passenger seat is located. This was done by making a roof panel similar to the one in the passenger van going from the front passenger area to just behind the rear sliding door. In this particular model which was a HR 148" WB CrewVan, the panel was huge and looked just like one from a passenger van that just stops at the rear of the sliding door.

Another part that was critical to the CrewVan was the area where the 3 passenger seat mounted to the floor. Ford went with a platform similar to the flooring in the passenger van with a raised flooring from the back of the front passenger area to about a foot past the rear part of the 3 passenger seat with a trim piece that went across the back between the raised flooring and the cargo van metal floor. The floor mounting brackets are located within this raised floor and the seat locks into the brackets just like in the passenger van with the pull handles that can release the seat. The 3 legs from the seat look to be placed in the same areas as in the current passenger van. Beyond the rear trim of the platform, you just have the metal cargo flooring and Ford has not given a option for a vinyl flooring toward the back of the van. No wall covering like the previous Transit models where you could order the Load Area Protection panels and get a wall covering on the cargo van.