Ford Transit USA Forum banner

1 - 20 of 207 Posts

·
Registered
187 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi, I have been researching for the past six months and have slowly started the build process. I'm not working at the moment, so I have a bunch of free time. I want to build a four-season camper van and travel the country, visiting all the national parks along the way. Feel free to critique any design decisions. I am a computer guy, so most of this is new to me. I try to keep everything as low toxic as I can, which might explain some things.

Layout:
Raised E-W in the window
Driver side - shower/toilet, fridge
Passenger side - batteries, electrical, sink, stove, air heater
Garage - freshwater, hot water
Under - grey water, hydronic heater

Raised bed:
32" height, 77" long, 60" wide

Framing:
8020 10 series aluminum extrusions

Insulation:
Ceiling - SM600L, AtticFoil
Walls - 1/4" Thinsulate
Cavities - Thinsulate
Exposed metal - SM400L
Floor - 1" cork

Roof:
8020 15 series aluminum extrusions
Vent Fan - Maxxair front middle
Middle skylight - Bomar N2039-10AX - 20 1/4" x 20 1/4"
Rear skylight - Bomar N2029-10AX - 18" 7/16 x 13 5/16"
Solar panels - 2 x 160w Renogy flexible
Bathroom fan - VentAir VP543
Cargo box - Thule Force Alpine
Kayak holder - Thule Hullavator Pro

Floor:
Expanded cork insulation board, 1.5" on floor and 1" on ridges
Aluminum heat transfer plates
3/8" PEX-AL-PEX tubing
3/4" Baltic birch plywood
1/8" Cork underlayment
1/8" Marmoleum Sheet - Withered Prairie

Ceiling
3/4" T&G Beetle Kill Pine
5 x 5-20w 4.5" frosted glass halogen lights

Walls
1/4" Baltic birch marine plywood
1/4" Thinsulate
Windows - CRL T-vent driver/passenger
Window flares with sliding windows

Electrical:
12v LiFePO4 battery bank - Battle Born 100Ah x 4 in parallel
Nation’s dual alternator 280XP w/ Balmar Regulator MC614
Morningstar TriStar 45A - TS-MPPT-45
Morningstar TriStar Remote Digital Meter - TS-RM-2
Magnum MS2812 2800w inverter/charger
Magnum Remote Control ME-ARC50