Ford Transit USA Forum banner

1 - 20 of 48 Posts

·
Registered
717 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
... is what I feel like telling people when they see my van and start asking about what kind of business I own. These are complete strangers.

Extended family get the consideration of being told I'm converting it to an RV. Immediate family, friends, and some select co-workers get closer to the full story - that my plan is to make a cozy place where I will attempt to live full time under the radar.

Why is everyone so nosy? Maybe that doesn't even matter. I don't want to outright lie to people that are making "friendly" conversation with me (because it usually cascades and I'm not good at making things up on the fly). What's a simple story that isn't a lie but will shut down the discussion very quickly? I thought maybe to jokingly tell them I'm a terrorist, but that seems like a really bad idea. Even typing it here has probably flagged me by a bunch of security organizations! :p

·
Registered
2,208 Posts
Tell them you are 'having fun living the great life in a Transit van'

I get comments and questions just about every time I stop somewhere with my 2017 T-250 MR Blue Jeans dual sliding door Transit. Everything from 'did not know they made these in colors' to 'how did you get this sliding door on the driver's side'.

More people are seeing these on the road and if they have a older model van of any brand they are curious about them. For me, it can be a selling point to tell them about the Transit and hand them one of my cards.

With you having the HR model, it draws more attention with just being 'BIG'. In most cases, people comment to you as they are trying to start a conversion about your Transit so you can say something like I mentioned and then walk away or try to look too busy to make any more comments about it.

·
Registered
5,271 Posts