Ford Transit USA Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Left my in progress van build for 2 weeks and came to find that my 12v lithium house batteries had dipped all the way down to 0.50 volts… I killed the power to everything while I was away (in hindsight I should have left everything live so the solar could top off the batteries but I’m new to this and assumed they’d be okay for a 2 weeks..)

Is there any glimmer of hope that they will still function normally if I charge them back up?

I feel like they shouldn’t have died that quickly as well.. is that normal for the heat of being in the van to drain them that fast? I’m in NC where the temps were about 80-90s over the last 2 weeks, internally I don’t know what the temperature of the van would reach..

Any insight would be greatly appreciated.

🙏🏼🙏🏼🙏🏼

·
Registered
1,252 Posts
I think they’re dead, that’s incredibly low. Even 10V would be iffy. What batteries are these? Most systems should have over discharge protection I’d think. @harryn might have some insight.

·
Registered
2017 350 XL HD passenger
728 Posts
Left my in progress van build for 2 weeks and came to find that my 12v lithium house batteries had dipped all the way down to 0.50 volts… I killed the power to everything while I was away (in hindsight I should have left everything live so the solar could top off the batteries but I’m new to this and assumed they’d be okay for a 2 weeks..)

Is there any glimmer of hope that they will still function normally if I charge them back up?

I feel like they shouldn’t have died that quickly as well.. is that normal for the heat of being in the van to drain them that fast? I’m in NC where the temps were about 80-90s over the last 2 weeks, internally I don’t know what the temperature of the van would reach..

🙏🏼🙏🏼🙏🏼