Ford Transit USA Forum banner

21 - 40 of 43 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
107 Posts
On my install with the harness the CAN bus is used for the steering wheel control. The other box control For getting the RPM, speed, temp, tire pressure etc It's getting the data from the CAN bus from a BT module to the Torque Android app. The 4.2" display is keeped in place with a Y cable, it places the display in line with the Axxess box. The other box communicates with SYNC I think. I'm not 100% sure exactly what each box does but I was told I needed to have them to keep everything I wanted. For example the backup cameras still have the makers with the white wheel positioning.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
39 Posts
Discussion Starter #23
Did you end up leaving the factory 4.2” screen in there somewhere? If so how did that wiring work in conjunction with your wiring harness for the backup camera? They both source out of the same 12 prong plug right?
Yes I left the 4.2" underneath the new radio. The harness has T. I tried not plugging in the 4.2 and leaving the second part of the T unplugged but couldn't get video on the new DDIN radio.
Base of T goes to vehicle wire harness, 1 side of T goes to new radio, other side of T goes to 4.2" screen. Worked like a champ.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5 Posts
Yes I left the 4.2" underneath the new radio. The harness has T. I tried not plugging in the 4.2 and leaving the second part of the T unplugged but couldn't get video on the new DDIN radio.
Base of T goes to vehicle wire harness, 1 side of T goes to new radio, other side of T goes to 4.2" screen. Worked like a champ.
Thanks, parts are ordered, I’m hoping to get it done this next week. We’ll see how it goes, I always seem to find some unexpected hiccup no matter how hard I plan and research...
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
39 Posts
Discussion Starter #25
Thanks, parts are ordered, I’m hoping to get it done this next week. We’ll see how it goes, I always seem to find some unexpected hiccup no matter how hard I plan and research...
Bolejake, how did the install go? Did you run into any hiccups? Would love to see a pic when you get a chance.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5 Posts
Hey Bradley, the install went ok, it took me about 12 hours start to finish, the two hiccups I hit were finding ACC power and a reverse signal. I finally decided to source the ACC from the cigarette outlet, and I eventually found a reverse signal from one of the wires by the fuse panel under the steering wheel. Overall the finished product turned out well and works nicely. The only thing that I am not pleased with is the fit of the Metra dash Kit. The clips that it has don’t seem to be holding it very tightly in which leaves a little bit of a lip.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
72 Posts
FYI - I have the light on my 19 T350 hr extended and successfully relocated it it into the same dash kit. Mine is just a standard cargo with the tow package and Ecoboost and cruise.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
8 Posts
Can anyone answer this, installed a pioneer AVH-601EX dd in my 2019 transit 250 .question why do I need the 4.2 screen plugged in the harness to get the stereo to work, unplug it no turn on, plug back in and it works.
ordered this part to keep the factory backup camera Axxess AX-FDSYNC-SWC 2015
but I still need the 4.2 screen plugged in for the stereo to work if you have a way out of this any help would be appreciated
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
72 Posts
Can anyone answer this, installed a pioneer AVH-601EX dd in my 2019 transit 250 .question why do I need the 4.2 screen plugged in the harness to get the stereo to work, unplug it no turn on, plug back in and it works.
ordered this part to keep the factory backup camera Axxess AX-FDSYNC-SWC 2015
but I still need the 4.2 screen plugged in for the stereo to work if you have a way out of this any help would be appreciated
Mine was all pretty much plug and play and I removed that screen on mine. Here is my parts list. I’m not sure how helpful it will be to you at this point but might help some others. (I purchased all from crutchfield)

Pioneer DMH-2660NEX

iDatalink Maestro RR Interface Module

Metra 99-5835G Dash Kit

iDatalink Connec HRN-RR-FO2 Factory Integration Adapter

Metra 40-EU10 Antenna Adapter

I also added a front camera

Crux CUL-03

I did have to put a switch into the middle of the reverse camera wire to open it up to solve what appeared to be a software issue with the pioneer. Sometimes when not in reverse, the screen periodically switches to that input for no reason. This was the only fix I could come up with so I just put a small switch in the dash and if it ever pops up I flip it off.

I got tired of finger pointing between manufacturers.

Cheers!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
51 Posts
I think this is the right thread I should be on. I had an aftermarket Pioneer stereo already in when I bought my van used. I'm not exactly sure where to start. I have the rearview camera in my mirror. Do I just need an iDatalink Maestro? Or is it different for the camera on the rearview mirror?

I have a partition in so the rearview mirror is kind of useless, so I would like it on my stereo display. I know it's capable, but doesn't seemed hooked up.

here is my Incoming Crutchfield Order.

I just have the basic system. so my backup camera is in my mirror. even though I plan to have a solid partition I'll keep the mirror back up camera, its just natural for me to Look at rearview and glance at side mirrors.

My question being do I want to buy another camera say License plate camera and just wire it to the Stereo unit so that I can view it any time I want? I also went and ahead and bought the Component speakers because well the A pillar is coming off anyways to run the mic wire.

My other confusion being not knowing what to expect from the 6.75 speakers. I may eventually add 6x9 boxes at the base of my Partion wall behind my seats. I think properly boxes 6x9's can give me the thump I want without needing to add amps etc.





View attachment 135297
Did you get around to this install? It looks like we might be in the same boat.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
475 Posts
Questions on the Display screen in my 2017 350HD:
1. Does it have to stay in or can it be removed?
2. What specific functionality you lose if it is removed?

My Findings to date:
Display Screen Ford P/N GK4T-188955-JB
Name of part in the Manual: Front Control/DisplayInterface Module (FDCIM)
Connector on back is a 12 pin recessed socket

Connector pinout:
Pin Circuit Gauge Circuit Function
1 SBP19 (BU-RD 20 FUSE - 19 OR CIRCUIT BREAKER
2 - - Not Used
3 - - Not Used
4 VDB13 (BU-GY) 22 CTRL MOD. - MULTIMEDIA CAN BUS HIGH
5 VDB14 (VT-GY) 22 CTRL MOD. - MULTIMEDIA CAN BUS LOW
6 VMP19 (WH-GN) 18 CAMERA -PARKING AID REAR VIDEO +
7 VME14 (GY-YE ) 22 SWITCH - REDUNDANT AUDIO +
8 VMC49 (VT-GY) 22 CTRL MOD. INTEGRATED CONTROL PANEL - LIN BUS

9 GD116 (BK-VT) 20 GROUND - CROSS CAR BEAM #3RD POINT
10 RME24 (BU-WH) 22 CTRL MOD. -AUDIO #SWITCH REDUNDANT AUDIO
11 GD116 9BK-VT) 20 GROUND - CROSS CAR BEAM #3RD POINT
12 RMP19 (BN-VT) 18 CAMERA -PARKING AID REAR VIDEO -

  • As has been stated in other postings, pins 6 and 12 are needed to maintain the rear camera.
  • My new unit installation harness has a male compatible connector that mates with the harness that has wires in pins 7, 8, and 10. Looking at the schematics in the manual, pins 7 and 10 are the audio remote pins that pass through the clockspring into the steering wheel to the upper right resitive input switch to select 1. Seek-, 2 seek+, 3 Volume+, 4 volume -, 5, Voice. In my wiring/connector the wire on Pin 10 passes into the radio/head unit and pins 7 and 8 loop around into my "Steering wheel controller box"
It appear that High Speed CAN is not used in my wiring.

Does anyone know what functionality in the display is lost without the High speed CAN connected?
Does anyone get any CAN errors/messages when the display module is not connected?

Thanks
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2 Posts
So I embarked on this journey as well, and I gotta admit, I have found it frustrating. Trying to find information on the right wiring for the system, it's a bear.
In my case, I found that on of the wires off the connector to the original faceplate for the radio (I have the 4.3" screen) did work perfectly with ignition.
(Maybe too perfect, it shuts off instantly when I turn off the vehicle, not the "1 minute delay" or "until I open the door delay")

As recommended, I purchased AX-FDSYNC-SWC 2015, although since I have no steering controls, I am using only the RCA Video jack off the harness with the rest plugged into the 4.3" display.
What I noticed is the harness doesn't send the video feed to the display at all. But the little head unit knows when I put it in reverse and provides and error indicating there is no video. I was actually surprised to find that the camera doesn't even seem to shut off. It seems there is always an active video feed when the vehicle is on (I tested by activating the reverse wire manually).

My question is, did any one successfully locate a functional wire for reverse in the radio bay? I noticed one person sourced from the interior fuse box. I am making an assumption, either one of the wires that run into that unit are providing the "reverse signal" and Metra (annoyingly) didn't account for it in their harness. OR - there is no wire for the reverse signal in that compartment, and the "signal" is instead logical rather (with the control modules) rather than physical.

I don't want to make any permanent alterations down by the fuse box, I have hacked up the factory radio cabling badly enough. So I may use a fuse tap and wire it up there. But if someone has figured our the magical key to this, I'd like to know!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
39 Posts
Discussion Starter #36
I was surprised that my new head unit had a setting that will do the following depending on how it is set:

1. Turn on Camera only when in reverse
2. Turn on Camera when in Drive and Off when in reverse.

I thought I had reversed some wiring but really ended up being that setting. I wonder if your head unit may have a configuration that is set to not behave as expected?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2 Posts
I was surprised that my new head unit had a setting that will do the following depending on how it is set:

1. Turn on Camera only when in reverse
2. Turn on Camera when in Drive and Off when in reverse.

I thought I had reversed some wiring but really ended up being that setting. I wonder if your head unit may have a configuration that is set to not behave as expected?
Hadn't found one, it's a cheaper unit. But I was able to test by powering the "reverse signal" wire on the radio. When powered, the radio rightly kicks over to the backup cam. But I could find no wire in the harness that lit up when I put the van in reverse, but the 4.3" display certainly "knew" it was. But, there is why I am curious about whether it is logical / data, or if there is actually a dedicated wire.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
475 Posts
I did not wire any specific wire for my backup signal/camera, and in my installation, I have my back up camera when I put it in reverse, along with the backup lines. I am thinking that the reverse signal comes through the LIN (low speed CAN bus) that my steering wheel/CAN box ties into. I was fretting about requiring a specific separate back up/reverse wire and unless I missed it in the main harness connector into my unit, I didn't do anything specific to make it work.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
475 Posts
On the other hand, When I looked at videos about the installation of my CARBAR 12.8 unit, one video show an android selection button for "System Contols" that looks like a steering wheel. When the person tapped on this button, they pulled up all the car OBDII specific information. I do not have this feature as far as I can tell, and I am wondering if I need a specific connection into the high speed CAN wiresto enable this.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2 Posts
I installed Android stereo. I left my 4.2" monitor for backup. Can anyone tell me if there is a way to adjust the time and date on that now? It is back to the time of production.
 
21 - 40 of 43 Posts
Top