Ford Transit USA Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
266 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Looking into putting an "escape hatch" in the roof of a Transit camper van I'm considering making.

The purpose of the hatch is not for emergency escape, rather, because I'm a photographer and can see many situations where I'd like to stand on a table or step ladder inside and take photographs from the height advantage offered from shooting at 3-4 feet above the roof. Also, I can see making panos from an indexed rack-mounted head. The van will mostly be used for photo road trips, i.e., making photos and prints, interviews, etc.

I suspect there are a lot of gotchas in installing a hatch. Roof ribs, non-flat roof, sealing, etc. Also, the hatches I've seen so far don't look that robust for long-term use.

Any insight from people who have put large roof hatches into Sprinters or other vans?

Thanks again...

·
Registered
1,585 Posts
People have put large sunroofs in Sprinters.
Ridges in roof just have to be leveled with a material before installing it.
Even the 14" square standard cut-out for roof fans requires leveling of the surface.
The only limitation will be the max space available w/o cutting major structural components. And nobody really knows what that is for the mysterious Transit.

·
Registered
169 Posts
Sounds doable, though not without some good research first. Another advantage to having an opening on the top of the Transit would be an extra air vent for the really hot summer months. You could always attach a ladder to the back of the Transit and then just climb on top of the Transit to take pictures. I don't think that you were planning on taking pictures out the top while you are moving anyway.

·
Registered
539 Posts
Coming from a photography background I can see where you're going with this, it definitely helps to create a great vantage point, you can even do some epic 360 degree photo's from their!

·
Registered
266 Posts
Discussion Starter #5