Ford Transit USA Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am converting a 2022 Ford Transit Van and need some help with the electrical. I’ve attached my electrical wiring diagram and solar diagram as well as what wire sizes I am running, length and fuses.
I am not an electrician and planning to install myself but want to make sure that I have sized everything correctly.
I also have a few specific questions:

In my AC panel if a load is going to draw 15amps is it better to use a 20amp breaker?
How many outlets can I have on one 15amp or 20amp breaker?
Can you have multiple loads on 1 DC circuit? i.e. 5amp lights and 2 amp lights on the same circuit?
Do I need a fuse on the Solar connection to the RedArc Manager30?
Will using a 250Amp circuit breaker on the Inverter (+) to busbar (+) work?
Do I require a fuse or surge protector from the AC Panel to the Transfer Switch?
The RedArc Manager30 AC Outlet is supposed to plug into something (not inverter) to charge the system. I want to run wire (not sure what size) from the shore power hookups on the transfer switch to a GFCI 15W outlet to plug the AC outlet into it so that when I plug into Shore Power the TS-30 switches from inverter to shore power then the charger will kick in. Will this setup work? What gauge of wire would be best to run from TS-30 to the GFCI 15W outlet? Would I need a fuse or circuit breaker?
I am wondering what size wire to use for Chasis ground:
  • Busbar (-) to chasis: can I use 4AWG or does it need to be 2AWG?
  • Inverter (-) to Chasis?
  • TS-30 ground to Chasis?
  • AC Panel to Chasis?

Please have a look at my system and let me know if you have any recommendations, concerns and if you can answer my questions.

Attachments

·
Registered
4,162 Posts
In my brick and mortar house I have 10 outlets on each 20 amp breaker, These are all bedroom bathroom livingroom outlets without much real loads on them. The kitchen outlets are on two 20 amp breakers.