Ford Transit USA Forum banner

cycle61's Adventure Van build

21238 Views 255 Replies 34 Participants Last post by  cycle61
Yesterday, after a couple years of looking, hoping, planning, and dreaming, my wife and I bought an van to convert to a four season camper. Our platform of choice is a Ford Transit AWD, 148" HR. The one we purchased was used, private party, but had less than a thousand miles on the clock. Previous owner already installed flares in the sides, a roof rack, tires, and some sound deadening. Other than that, it's a blank slate for us to start building.

I'm an electrical engineer by trade, grew up helping my dad build wooden boats, and generally enjoy all the pending aspects of a massive project like this. Wife and I are skiers, backpackers, runners, mountaineers, paddleboarders, and we both love long road trips and probably walks on the beach.

Planning on a build that's 4-season capable, able to support all of our various hobbies and travels, comfortable for longer trips, self-sufficient, durable, and reliable.

That said...Meet Denali.

Wheel Tire Land vehicle Vehicle Motor vehicle

Automotive parking light Hood Automotive lighting Automotive tire Motor vehicle
1 - 20 of 256 Posts

· Registered
2017, cargo, 130inch, mr, dbl sliders, 3.2 dsl, 3.31 rear end, used 13.5k mi.
244 Posts
Re-cycle61 new adv van= great new blank slate as you say! Will look forward to future posts as you guys design and build. Oh, the places you will go......giddyup!

· Premium Member
300 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks! Incredibly excited about it. We're going camping this weekend, mostly to get our dog away from any chance of fireworks, and CycleWife has been busy getting things ready for the maiden voyage.

Motor vehicle Automotive lighting Automotive tire Automotive exterior Mode of transport

Just ordered four windows and accoutrement from Van Windows Direct...hopefully be able to start cutting holes in the van next week.