Ford Transit USA Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Forgive me if this has been asked before. I have a '15 Transit 350, taking a 235/65R16C tire. I'm a delivery driver that sees a LOT of gravel! What is the best "off road" tire that people have been using. Thanks in advance!

·
Registered
1,135 Posts
I'm happy with our Nokian WRC3 tires in stock 235/65/16 size.

·
Registered
2,091 Posts
You actually want a Load Rated 'E' tire for your Transit. Nearly every tire manufacturer has made the Ford Transit unique 235/65/R16 tire size but a lot of Transit owners are going with the larger 245/75/R16 like asdrew.

You will not have a clearance problem unless you have the front wheel well liners and then it barely touches the edge of the time at full locked turning. I have the Michelin Defender LTX 245/75/R16 tire on my 2017 T-250 DSD van.

·
Registered
201 Posts
What, if anything, must be done to the vehicle when adding that larger tire diameter? I thought I read somewhere that there was a coding change? I have the 3.5L ecoboost and 3.31 LS diff

·
Super Moderator
2,325 Posts
What, if anything, must be done to the vehicle when adding that larger tire diameter? I thought I read somewhere that there was a coding change?
Nothing needs to be done for clearance in most cases, some tire styles will need trimming of the pinch weld seam.

The larger circumference will affect the speedometer/odometer about 10% but the performance difference as far as shift points, power, etc is negligible. I have two 3.5 wagons with 3.31 axles, one with stock tires and one larger. I cannot tell any difference. :nerd:

So far no solutions to reprogram for larger tires have been found, but there are numerous GPS speed apps for your phone to display an accurate speed if you wish. I use the TorquePro app on my Android stereo to display speed.

Attachments

·
Registered
287 Posts
You can try the michelin agilis crossclimate in our size and rating.