Ford Transit USA Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
133 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
On my lightly loaded? (6900 pounds on scale) 2019 MR Transit 250 with LT255/70/r16 KO tires everything is peachy running 60 psi but the second I hit any washboard the van rattles like a dirt compacting machine and the rear end wants to come around at any speed and super dangerous and teeth shaking. It literally cannot go on the washboard where I need to go.... even with old ladies in a Yugo speeding by.

The offroad guys said I need to air down to 15 0r 20 at the most and that should make it all better but i'm worried about the tires coming off the rims being a total newb. How low can you conservatively go?

I ordered a co2 tank and regulator for airing back up just need a baseline as to what pressure to run.

·
Registered
2019 MR RWB T150
125 Posts
On my lightly loaded? (6900 pounds on scale) 2019 MR Transit 250 with LT255/70/r16 KO tires everything is peachy running 60 psi but the second I hit any washboard the van rattles like a dirt compacting machine and the rear end wants to come around at any speed and super dangerous and teeth shaking. It literally cannot go on the washboard where I need to go.... even with old ladies in a Yugo speeding by.

The offroad guys said I need to air down to 15 0r 20 at the most and that should make it all better but i'm worried about the tires coming off the rims being a total newb. How low can you conservatively go?

I ordered a co2 tank and regulator for airing back up just need a baseline as to what pressure to run.
I take 10 or 15 OUT of my Yokohamas (245/75/16) and that seems to work well. On hiway they’re at 52 and 65. I would think at 15 or 20 you’d lose the bead.

Reactions: OldMadBrit

·
Registered
13 Posts