Ford Transit USA Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
2020 Ford Transit After Market Stereo Install

The new Transits have new electronic systems different from all previous years, so installing a new stereo is kind of tricky.

WARNING and DISCLAIMER!!! This is how I did it. I am not a pro stereo installer. I do not know really anything about electronics or radio install and really nothing about Ford wiring so use at your own risk! I am not responsible for damage to your vehicle.

Spoiler: I installed a double din Kenwood (not easy) that has factory steering wheel controls, factory backup camera with factory turn and distance lines. I also hooked up a front camera and side camera (not explained in this install part or how to do a double din).

My Ford Pass and everything works like normal also.

My goal was to install an aftermarket radio without cutting up the factory harness and keeping the factory back up camera.

Stereo Harness:

The iDatalink RF03 harness directly plugs in to the Ford harness and brings along the camera video feed. All you need for the ford backup camera to work is hot wire running to the back of your stereo (kenwood is Purple/white wire). I’ll show where I hooked this up in a minute. I used a wire running to my cigarette lighter with a switch for a few days until I got everything hooked up LOL. P.S. I cut the wires below because I was using a steering wheel controller from a different company.

iDatalink rFO3 Replace your factory radio while retaining steering wheel audio controls and other features in select 2020-up Ford trucks at Crutchfield

The large black plug pins (on back of plug):

Top row

-Yellow is hooked to batt (for stock stereo)

-Black is ground

Greys hook up to stereo plug

Second row

WHT & WHT/BLACK, PURPLE, PURPLE/BLACK, etc are speaker wires

Bottom row

-Brown/red connects Ford Data info

-Yellow/Brown connects Ford Data info