Ford Transit USA Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Been a member here and posting for a little while, probably past due for an introduction.

Ordered the above van last January and it went thru the factory during 'rona, so it didn't land at my dealer until September. Been busy with work/holidays/family stuff so I haven't had much time to work on it until recently.

Me: I'm a locksmith. The van is my mobile office/storefront/workshop. I spend most of my week in it. My last/current van is a 2007 Sprinter which I bought new, but it's clocking up the miles and the last 2 years I've spent upwards of $6k/year on repairs alone (not including maintenance items like tires/brakes/oil changes. Decided it was time to replace it in 2019, tried to order another Sprinter but after taking my deposit there was zero movement in 6 months so I canceled the order, got my deposit back, and ordered the Transit. Fast forward to almost 2 years later. . .

Transit is a tech/comfort heavy option list. BLIS, nav/backup camera, power heated leather seats, Lane keep assist, passive safety features, etc. .. and a must have: rear heat/air. This is the first work van I've had with that option and I'm looking forward to enjoying it. As pictured above, one of the first things I did was swap out the grille for the honeycomb cab/chassis grille, and added a quick connect plug for jumper cables at the front (LOTS of cars I work on have dead batteries, and jump boxes suck).