Ford Transit USA Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all, first post here as a new member. I have a 2015 250 high top, I just hit 80,000 miles and will be on my third set of pads/rotors. Original Ford equipment lasted 65k, I changed pads and rotors with AdvanvedAuto premium pads and rotors. Coated rotors for New Jersey winters and lifetime replacement pads...well 2years and less than 20k both front and rear pads are TOAST front rotors also wrapped so I have wobble when hitting brakes. I was gonna use the warranty from AdvancedAuto but decided to buy Autozone high carbon coated rotors and their MAX series pads. I have them on my personal F350 and have had GREAT success with them so I went that route.

Did I do something wrong two years ago to make pads go that fast of is the AdvancedAuto brand brakes just junk like I suspect?

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Guess I should say I'm a P/HVAC master tech so I'm doing service plus installs and the 250 is loaded REALLY good. I was gonna buy a 350 but the payload was so close and the axles ext are identical so the cheaper registration/insurance lead to me getting the 250

·
Registered
74 Posts
Did I do something wrong two years ago to make pads go that fast of is the AdvancedAuto brand brakes just junk like I suspect?
Certainly a lot of people do brake jobs on their vehicles. There are some finer points to consider, to possibly extend pad life. I’d suggest watching:

and see if you pick up any additional techniques. I’m a total believer of taking care of the caliper Bracket hardware in addition to the Caliper slider pins.

·
Registered
2,781 Posts
The 2015s had upside down brake calipers from the factory, I would guess most of them have been fixed by now...

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Certainly a lot of people do brake jobs on their vehicles. There are some finer points to consider, to possibly extend pad life. I’d suggest watching: