T250 with Airlift - Ford Transit USA Forum
 2Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 01-08-2017, 03:00:PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
T250 with Airlift

I found a stock T250 that I like but I really wanted a 350 but.....

After searching long and hard, it seems the only difference is in the rear spring rate. Can this be true? Thats an insane amount of money to install a thicker spring but ......

There may be an advantage to doing this. I want a 350 to maintain ground clearance for rough BLM roads. If I buy a 250 and use an air spring I can have the clearance, when I want it, and use the springs to help level the van when camping or when not loaded. Seems like I could have it both ways.

Does anyone see a problem with this? Sure wish Ford would provide more info on the 350 upgrade.

Thanx for any feedback.
Ron
RonR is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 01-08-2017, 03:40:PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 295
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Per Ford's own spec sheet the only difference between a 150, 250 and 350 is the rear spring pack. Brakes, axles etc are identical. Coming from the truck world I find this insane and dangerous but it is what it is. I bought the 150, saved a ton of money, and will be installing air bags.

I honestly do not expect the puny van suspension components to survive very long off road but I won't know what is weakest until I break something.

2017 Ingot Silver, Cargo, Medium roof, 148"WB, standard length. 3.5L Ecoboost.
rene12341 is online now  
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 01-08-2017, 04:21:PM
Senior Member
 
sschefer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 1,209
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 337 Post(s)
I have the Airlift on my 250 and love it. Does just what your thinking it will.
RonR likes this.

2016 T250, MR, LWB, 3.5L EB, 3.73 LS, Sync, Tow Package.
sschefer is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 01-31-2017, 03:20:PM
Senior Member
 
camp&ride's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Posts: 163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by sschefer View Post
I have the Airlift on my 250 and love it. Does just what your thinking it will.
How was the airbag install? Did it require drilling or are the brackets "bolt-on"?
camp&ride is offline  
post #5 of 11 (permalink) Old 01-31-2017, 03:27:PM
Senior Member
 
sschefer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 1,209
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 337 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by camp&ride View Post
How was the airbag install? Did it require drilling or are the brackets "bolt-on"?
It's totally bolt on, no drilling. If you do like I did and mount the compressor and wireless module behind the drivers seat, you don't have to drill any holes. Just remove the drivers seat (4 bolts) remove the battery(s) and battery box and you'll see there is a least one (mine had 3) holes with plugs that can either be removed or just pierced to pass the lines through.

The first one takes a little longer than the second and removing the wheel makes it easier but is not required.
camp&ride likes this.

2016 T250, MR, LWB, 3.5L EB, 3.73 LS, Sync, Tow Package.
sschefer is online now  
post #6 of 11 (permalink) Old 01-31-2017, 06:22:PM
Senior Member
 
sschefer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 1,209
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 337 Post(s)
Forgot to mention that you'll probably want some extra air line. I used 25 feet. It's known as air brake line. Ask for it any other way and you'll get blank stares.

2016 T250, MR, LWB, 3.5L EB, 3.73 LS, Sync, Tow Package.
sschefer is online now  
post #7 of 11 (permalink) Old 06-11-2017, 01:48:PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Hey sschefer, Im installing the Airlift 5000 and the wireless 72000 to my T350 and was wondering where you pulled power from for the pump? I'm planning on installing pump under vehicle, not sure if there is power under there to tap into or if i need to run under seat? Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Last edited by Nathan; 06-11-2017 at 01:55:PM.
Nathan is offline  
post #8 of 11 (permalink) Old 06-11-2017, 02:08:PM
Senior Member
 
sschefer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 1,209
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 337 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nathan View Post
Hey sschefer, Im installing the Airlift 5000 and the wireless 7200 to my T350 and was wondering where you pulled power from for the pump? I'm planning on installing pump under vehicle, not sure if there is power under there to tap into or if i need to run under seat? Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!
I mounted mine behind the drivers seat so getting power to it was easy. I used the C-33E connectors pin 6 to get key in run position power to a separate relay then got power from the CCP to power the relay for the pump. If you understand automotive relay wiring it's pretty easy.

When I first installed it I used just the CCP so it was powered all the time. It would cycle frequently as the outside temperature changed. There are other ways to get key on power.

I mounted mine inside because the unit is not water proof, it's water resistant. I didn't want to submerge it on a flooded road and didn't know how much water might get to it from underneath on a rainy day.

If you decide to go underneath there's a couple of oblong holes behind the drivers seat pedestal. If you run a fish tape down them, it should come out in the channel where the fuel fill hose is. I ran my air lines up behind the seat this way. I had to get 25 feet more of 1/4" air brake line to complete both runs.

Sent from wherever I happen to be at the moment.

2016 T250, MR, LWB, 3.5L EB, 3.73 LS, Sync, Tow Package.
sschefer is online now  
post #9 of 11 (permalink) Old 06-11-2017, 03:10:PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Thanks sschefer, I am familiar with CCP connection. I'm not familiar with the C-33E connector under the drivers seat. I found another post where you said it was located underneath the battery box so I can dig around for that when i upgrade my CCP to have all 3 ports fired up. It looks like the Airlift 72000 kit doesn't come with a relay, did yours come with or purchase separate? I was planning on putting in a 1000w inverter off of the CCP ports so maybe i need a bigger 200amp relay and switch source then i could run airlift pump and inverter together. Do you think the C-33E pin 6 source you mentioned would work with a large 200amp relay?
Nathan is offline  
post #10 of 11 (permalink) Old 06-11-2017, 03:50:PM
Senior Member
 
sschefer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 1,209
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 337 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nathan View Post
Thanks sschefer, I am familiar with CCP connection. I'm not familiar with the C-33E connector under the drivers seat. I found another post where you said it was located underneath the battery box so I can dig around for that when i upgrade my CCP to have all 3 ports fired up. It looks like the Airlift 72000 kit doesn't come with a relay, did yours come with or purchase separate? I was planning on putting in a 1000w inverter off of the CCP ports so maybe i need a bigger 200amp relay and switch source then i could run airlift pump and inverter together. Do you think the C-33E pin 6 source you mentioned would work with a large 200amp relay?
My pump and wireless receiver came with a harness that included a relay but it uses a single power source. You can split it if you want.

Pin 6 is rated for a maximum of 10 amps so I just use it to operate relays. I have no clue where the fuse is for it and have no desire to go looking for it. I have a couple of large relays that I operate via smaller relays using pin 6 but they're only rated at 80 amps. Find out what the constant current requirement is to switch the relays you want to use and fuse the switching voltage from pin 6 with an inline fuse. I put a 7.5 amp fuse inline with pin 6 and then fuse each of my relays with a 5 amp fuse.

2016 T250, MR, LWB, 3.5L EB, 3.73 LS, Sync, Tow Package.
sschefer is online now  
Reply

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
T250 fuel capacity? surly Bill Ford Transit General Discussion 15 11-04-2016 11:53:AM
T250 MR LWB 3.7 LS First 500 miles cargovanconversion Ford Transit Mileage and MPGs 2 05-15-2016 05:29:PM
About to order 2016 T250 audiopyle Dealers, Purchases and Orders 10 10-24-2015 11:53:PM
Dustboy's Do-It-All T250 dustboy Camper Vans and Conversions 4 08-24-2015 03:14:PM
T250 with Headliner Keytrader Accessories and Add Ons 4 02-22-2015 02:59:PM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome